Tax Relief Provided to Hurricane Irene Victims

September 14, 2011

The IRS is providing tax relief to qualifying tax payers by postponing certain tax filing and payment deadlines to Oct. 31, 2011 from September 15, 2011. It includes corporations and businesses that previously obtained an extension until Sept. 15, 2011, to file their 2010 returns and individuals and businesses that received a similar extension until Oct. 17. It also includes the estimated tax payment for the third quarter of 2011, which would normally be due Sept. 15.

Full details, including the start date for the relief in various locations and information on how to claim a disaster loss by amending a prior-year tax return, can be found in tax relief announcements for individual states on this website.

The relief applies to certain taxpayers according to the assessments by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). A list of current qualifying taxpayers is below, however, the IRS expects to announce tax relief for taxpayers in other areas as damage assessments continue. The IRS encourages taxpayers and tax practitioners to monitor Tax Relief in Disaster Situations

For information on disaster recovery, individuals should visit

Federal Tax Relief Available So Far

Filing and payment relief is currently available to taxpayers in federal disaster areas declared in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Puerto Rico and Vermont. So far, IRS filing and payment relief applies to the following tri-state counties and municipalities:

In Connecticut: Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland and Windham;

In New Jersey: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren;

In New York: Albany, Bronx, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Kings, Montgomery, Nassau, Orange, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington and Westchester;

State Tax Relief

New York State, New York City, New Jersey and Connecticut have granted relief. Specifics on these states is available on the PerelsonWeiner website. 

For more information please contact your PerelsonWeiner tax partner. 

Return to Newsletter Archive